The Battle Cats game app review

This game is one of my favorite (please take note that I am not really much of a gamer) games to play whenever I’m bored — The Battle Cats version 5.0.1 (by Ponos). I have actually played this game before (I got stuck and forgot to resume the game), and just installed it again to try to complete it.

It’s free on Google Play: The Battle Cats

Battlecats1Here are the features (taken from Google play):

Assist the Cats with extremely simple controls and a straight-forward system!
No need to register to raise your own Battle Cat army! BATTLE WITH ALL THE CATS !!

Super Simple Battle System
Just tap on the Cat you want to fight for you! Oh, and maybe fire the Cat Cannon once or twice.
Take down the enemy base!

Super Simple Levelling System
Use the XP you get from clearing stages to level up the Cats! Once they hit level 10, it’s evolution time!!

Super Simple Fun! The Battle Cats
Collect the treasures while you take over the world!
Draw new rare and exotic Cats(?) !!
Fight really weird and interesting enemies!

What I really like about this game is the idea of cute cats going to battle! Also, I love playing strategy games, although this one is really simple compared to the others. But believe me, if you like strategy and cuteness rolled into one, better install this app.

The purpose of the game is for you to attack the other base while defending your cat base. For starters, you will have one cat and it is up to you to upgrade it (using your XP – used only for upgrades; the cat food is used as currency for store purchases). As you complete stages, more cats become available and you can choose which ones you want to use in battle. Each cat has a specific characteristic or ability (ex. macho cat, sword fighting cat, kicking cat, flying cat haha). There are a lot of cats to choose from, and some are of the rare type. You can only produce cats depending on the amount produced by your cat wallet.

Every stage/level won entitles you to a certain amount of XP which you can use to upgrade your battle cats. You can also go back to previous stages to earn more XP. Don’t worry, even if you don’t go back, the game developers are quite generous in giving out XP, freebies and rewards (by logging in everyday, finding treasures etc). There are paid offers as well.

The lineup of the enemy units is also view-able so you can plan your attack. These enemy units include: Doge, Snache, Those guys, Hippoe, Pigge, etc. Take note, your enemies aren’t cats!

As of this writing, I have already upgraded 5 of my cats to level 10 (the highest upgrade). I am proud of it considering I am a poor strategist/gamer (haha!). I have already upgraded my cat base health and cannon, etc. Yay!

The only problem I’m having with this app is it keeps crashing every after 4 or 5 levels. Oh well, maybe my phone isn’t fast enough (mid range android phone, Jellybean OS). I think this will work well with upper range android smartphones and tablets.

Please please try this game and tell me what you think! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “The Battle Cats game app review

Leave a Reply

